Avision Ahead Combo Mask

  • Avision Ahead Combo Mask
  • Avision Ahead Combo Mask

  • Avision Ahead Combo Mask
  • Avision Ahead Combo Mask

Avision Ahead Combo Mask

Item #: avision-cs-AVH-1-PC

Availability: Out of stock

Original Price $78.99

Our Price $35.99

Avision Ahead Combo Mask

  • Avision Ahead Combo Mask
  • Avision Ahead Combo Mask

  • Avision Ahead Combo Mask
  • Avision Ahead Combo Mask


  • Two piece polycarbonate high impact mask with a replaceable lens
  • 100% Fog free lens (both sides)
  • Scratch resistant lens (both sides)
  • Polycarbonate cage frame weighs 5.2 oz
  • Fits all major brand helmets senior medium and up
  • Crystal clear - Tough as nails
  • Mounting hardware included
  • Avision Ahead Combo Mask

    Product Questions

    No questions yet. Be the first to ask the question!

    Customer Reviews

    Amazing Product!

    My son has been using the combo mask for 2 years. Is on the ice 3-4 times a week, has worn the combo mask indoor and outdoor and never fogged. Even when it was -15 with wind chill. I only washed the lens or used the cleaner you use on regular glasses and it still did not fog. Great product!! Just purchased a junior replacement lens and changing it was pretty easy. Had a little issue purchasing the product online. Contacted the company and The Founder of the company, Bill Everett responded within 5-10 minutes of my email. He handled and rectified the situation within minutes and I received the product a week after. Very satisfied all around, great product great customer service and would recommend this product to others.

    Review by Lightning (Posted on 10/5/2016)
    I can see the game 100% fog free

    I hated wire cages they disrupted my vision. I wanted a lightweight mask and a replaceable lens. I've not needed to replace the lens because its scratch resistant both sides so I wipe and it's clear as can be.

    Review by Buck the trend (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    he facemask

    i like it. i ordered it on their website in olympic gold but for some reason its kind of big for my helmet.

    Review by your master (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    Amazing clarity and air flow

    I switched to a full cage after knocking out a few teeth last season in adult league. The wire cage and it was flimsy and made it very difficult to see the puck. I ordered found this mask and will NEVER switch back to a cage. It doesn't fog, has a replaceable shield, and fits perfectly. Plus i can just use water and a t shirt to clean it. No anti fog or cleaner to buy. Plus it comes in all kinds of colors at no extra charge.

    Review by Has Been Harry (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    Great buy so fat

    I bought this last week from Montreal, Canada.
    I play two to three times a week and was a bit tired of my cage.
    The combo feels really good and doesn't seem to fog at all. The combo feels a little bit large for my helmet (Bauer) but is looking good from my point of view. It looks a bit like a football full-face.
    I tend to blow sweat upwards when my team gets scored and it kind of sticks in the lens so I have to bring a towel on the bench to dry it off from times to times.
    Also, the chin guard that came whit the combo felt a bit ÇcheapÈ so I replaced it with the one I had on the old cage.
    Overall, it felt great, the view is much better. I told friends that the difference between the cage and the combo is a little like going from a 120mm lens on camera to a wide angle: you peripheral vision gets REALLY better, once you get accustomed to the new feel.
    The guys from Hockey Monkey did a great job in delivering this to my place (in about 7-8 days).
    I only played a couple of games with it but so far, it feels like a big improvement.

    Review by Gerryboy (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    great vision with this shield

    I play 1 or 2 competitive games a week. The mask is sturdy, well built and the mask does not fog. Great to be able to have a full field of vision. Surprised to find that the mask did not come with mounting hardware or screws. I had to recycle old parts, but now I don't have a loaner helmet.

    Review by Inspector Matt (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    It Fogs Up

    Falsey advertised. Did the research. Read the reviews. Used the product. It fogs up.

    Review by Mula (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    Works Great, Looks great!

    The mask looks great and fits well on my senior size Large CCM V10 helmet. I've tried Bauer recon, concept II, and various cages. None of them were as good as this one. All shield combos fog a bit, but this one fogs the least of any I've tried. It only fogs when I'm sitting on the bench between shifts and its only a tiny bit of fog, just in the center near my nose. The foggy area is very minimal so unless you're expecting a miracle mask I wouldn't let that keep you away. The trade off of better vision over a cage is well worth the negligible fogging in my opinion. I got a grey one for my blqck helmet, but I plan on buying another for a different helmet soon. The only criticism I have is that it feels a little short for my giant face. The chin cup sits a little below the bottom of the cage part. It feels lighter to me than the other combos I've tried.

    Review by Jason B (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    Looks Good in Black & Worked Great!

    I live in Ontario, I play in a Rec League and Pickup Hockey 2 to 3 times a week. I have always worn a cage but wanted to look at the option for a Visor/Cage Combo for a change. I saw this online and liked the look of it and my Wife ordered it in Black for my birthday :)

    Well it arrived and I installed it on my new black medium Reebok 5k Helmet. Fitted easily. I did however make a couple of changes. I used the chin pad and strap clips from old CCM Cage. The chin pad that came with the face mask seemed a little 'cheapy' and didn't feel comfortable for my chin. Quick swap and the old pad was in place and felt great.

    Today was the big test, wore it this morning to practice and wow I was impressed. I did nothing to it, friends were telling me to spray it with special spray, rub it with dishcloth and soap, to prevent fogging. I did nothing, visor was 'as is' right out of the box. A little nervous it would fog up on me despite the claims from the manufacturer... but nothing... NO FOG! :)

    It was fantastic! After wearing a cage all these years, I felt like my eyes had just been opened playing the game! Vision was awesome and I could see clearly! Felt great & looks great!

    Review by Captain Wolf Pack (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    Used 3 times

    69 year old, in 4th year of Beginner Rec league. Started with CCM V10/cage. Went
    to all plastic visor/cage; then to Bauer visor/wire-cage. Bauer was best, but got scuffed up. This new one has better visibility (a little wider); both screws included (shorter than others, so just used old screws); chin guard is fine. Much better visibility. It did fog up 30-45 minuted into practice, and middle of 2nd period of the game. It does dry with a few wipes of a towel. It does re-fog up, but wipes up quickly.
    Cleans up with plain water & towel, for next time out. As a side note, a guy on my team got same visor, & his acts same as mine. As side note 2, the CCM V10 is still great (even after it recently fell on the locker room floor, from the top shelf .. No damage).

    Review by Cass M (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    Huge face shield, fogs up

    I play hockey 2 times a week or more. This mask fogged right out of the box, and only got worse as it got colder out. Played indoor and outdoor with this shield, ended up taking it off and wearing no mask for the remainder of my outdoor game because I couldn't see at all. I am definitely switching back to my wire cage now. I can't pay attention to my team while on the bench because I am busy unstrapping and wiping down my face mask every break I get. Very disappointed after reading all the good reviews on various websites about this product. Also this mask is huge on your face, I really could care less about that if it didn't fog up.

    Review by CCMoore (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    Great Mask

    I've had my Avison Ahead mask for about 5 months now. I'm on the ice roughly 2 times a week. I saw this mask here on Hockey Monkey and then I went to the website to get some more info. I saw their claim stating that the shield would never fog and I viewed some of their test video's to support the "no fog" promise. Desided to give it a shot so I ordered the black one to go with my black and grey Bauer 9900. Looks amazing! Not only does it look good but it performs as promised. Like any visor combo mask it will catch sweat but that's not a problem. As far as the fog, it does what it says! I have been on the ice skating nonstop for 20 mins or so during practices and not once has it even slightly started to fog on me. I read some of the other reviews saying not to get it because of fogging issues... I can honestly say that this is one product that everyone wearing a mask, cage, w/e should try out. You will not be disappointed. Only thig I could say remotely negative about the product is that it comes with limited hardware for instal and as mentioned in other reviews, the chin cup is a little weak. I replaced it with the shock doctor one.

    Review by Mr Fireman (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    Nice Combo Mask

    Outstanding visibility with the visor and great protection all around. During my first use I had no fogging issues, but it was a little difficult to breath, but I got use to it very quickly.

    Review by Loosh (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    Great product! Worth the money

    I had the mask for 4 months now, looks like the day I got i. I took a goalie stick to the face tonight (that's why I decided to write the review). Mask saved my face, teeth, nose & eyes. Got hit so hard I fell, not a scratch on me or the mask. Unfreaking believable!!! Worth it weight in gold in my eyes!!

    Review by DLD (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    I wish I coud use it

    The straps don't clip onto the side buttons on a Reebok helmet. I wanted to use this, but had to take it off until I find compatible clips.

    Review by cls (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    Works as advertised!

    I have used this mask a couple times a week in my adult leagues for over a year now. I sweat a lot and it has NEVER fogged up, not even in the humid summer air. Not a single scratch yet either (I always keep it in a helmet bag.)

    Yes it is a bit big looking, but I think that is part of the reason it doesn't fog up - the shield is further from your face than others. I got over the looks after 5 minutes on the ice. It works just like it is advertised (and costs less than the others.) I am very please with this mask.

    Review by Eric Logan (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    Excellent Mask

    Using for a couple months mainly for ice. It has never fogged. I do need to bring a towel to the bench because I sweat on the lens, but no problems with vision or anything else. I did use the chin strap from my previous helmet for comfort reasons.

    Review by boogieboard71 (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    Save your money

    This product fogged right out of the box, I'm extremely disappointed. Save your money stick with a cage.

    Review by Rick (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    Avision Full Shield, made in USA

    I tried Bauer Concept III, but had issue with fogging up. This Shield is great, no issues with fog, comfortable to wear and does not have depth distortion I had with Bauer shield. Per manufacturer instructions the shield does not require anti-fog spray, just water and soft cloth to clean it. I have it installed on my Bauer Re-Act helmet (Medium size) and it fits very good. I use chin cup and strap from my Bauer Concept III shield, however, just feels better. I also used plastic washers for the 2 helmet screws on top to attach the shield to get that extra 1/8 of an inch gap for ventilation. I am thinking of getting replacement lens for future use.

    Review by Vlad (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    Waste of money and false advertising!

    I must admit I was skeptical about buying this. I've had shields before and in the end they always fog up. I've been having a lot of issues with my eyes watering lately. I've tried lots of different drops and finally after no success I decided to try this shield. Having read the reviews most although not all were positive. I figured I would take my chances. First game was tonight in a mens league in NYC. Space is cold, cold air etc. Shield began to fog as soon as I got on the ice. It started just below my nose and by mid game it had creeped up to the point that I could no longer see. I had to keep wiping it down but to no avail. It would clear a bit when I started skating but honestly, NO FOG? come on that is a total lie. Save your money and your time.

    Do not buy this product.

    Review by dibzy (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    Satisfied for the most part

    I did not order this shield from Hockey monkey but figured I'd review it since I have played w/it for at least 4 seasons now. I bought it because I felt like the bars from my cage were interfering with my ability to keep track of the puck in my peripheral vision. When I swapped cage for shield I did notice a big difference and for a while it didn't fog up on me but eventually I started having to use "tricks" to avoid fogging. The best solution I arrived at was spraying it with Lysol prior to games and just letting it dry on the mask before using it. This actually worked very well for me, and I am a big (warm blooded) guy and once the factory anti-fog wore off it would fog up within seconds after just stepping out onto the ice.

    Having said that, the fogging was never my biggest complaint about this shield. My problem, from day one, was that the shield was too short for my face and they only make it in one size. I use a Bauer 8500 helmet and when I originally mounted it on the helmet it didn't even hit the cage stops on the side of the helmet when it was snapped, even on their lowest adjustment. I ended up making a pair of stops out of aluminum to make sure it wouldn't "over-travel" if I took a hit to the mask. The new stops solved that problem but I, as many of the other reviewers, found the chin cup that came with the shield to be uncomfortable so I swapped cups from my old cage too. I even went so far as to flip the brackets that hold the top of the mask to the helmet over to get a little more vertical length out of the mounting configuration. Even after all of the customization I could still open my mouth in just the right way, with the shield snapped, and pop my chin out of the chin strap. This never really became a problem in all the time I used it but it always kind of bothered me.

    I have gone back to a cage, mainly because of fitment, however I am thinking about getting a new helmet and if I do I will definitely try the shield on it to see if it fits me better on a different helmet. If you have read this far, I assume you are looking for some kind of a conclusion so I will say this is a quality shield and provides good protection if your head/face isn't huge. Don't count on lifetime of factory anti-fog protection but I wouldn't let anti-fog promises be the only determining factor in the purchase of this shield. I never had a lack of confidence in this shields ability to protect me from a stick, puck or the boards. I only gave it 3 stars because, personally, I'm skeptical of the 4 and five star reviews most of the time and I usually check 1-3 star reviews first. I am selecting the "Yes, I would recommend this to a friend" box because its not the manufacturer's fault I have a big head, but buyer beware...if you have a big melon.

    Review by Frank the tank (Posted on 7/24/2016)

    Very difficult to fit to a CCM Res300 (great helmet) and my face. Wore for one game. Spent the entire game battling fog. Disappointed

    Review by RecHak (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    It does fog up!

    My 15 y/o son plays for his high school team in Metro Detroit. They skate 3 times a week for an hour each time. Like many of you we read all the reviews before buying this shield. We even watched videos on the internet where the owner of the shield company talks about how it won't fog up...he shows this by exhaling air onto the visor to show that it won't fog up. We weren't sure what to expect given the mix of good and bad reviews, but bought this shield anyway with hopes of it performing like the company says it will. The shield fogs up within ten minutes of hitting the ice. My son says it completely obscures his vision which he says is very disorienting. We followed all mounting and cleaning instructions to the letter, but the shield does not perform as advertised. I went to the company's website to express my displeasure with the product directly to the owner. To his credit he tried to make things right and shipped me a new replacement lens free of charge (except we had to pay the shipping). When the new lens arrived I removed the "old" one (which had been used for only a month at this point) and inserted the new lens. Within an hour my son was on the ice for practice and within 10 minutes the shield fogged up so bad my son had to go to the bench to wipe it off. He had to continually go to the bench throught practice to keep wiping the fog off. During practice I e-mailed Bill Everett the owner of the company that makes the shield. Again he is trying to make things right and keep us as customers, but we've had two visors and both of them fogged up very quickly. Do not waste your money on this product. You will only spend more money in the long run because you will end up going to a different shield or cage.

    Review by Will's Dad (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    5 star full shield

    Love this shield. While there are a TON of positive reviews out there, I've read some of the negative reviews from hockeymonkey and other sites, and I was skeptical about purchasing this mask at first.... However, I can't complain whatsoever. Lots of things to love here:

    * I've had this mask for about a year, NO issues with fogging
    * Vision is just as clear as it was the first time I wore it
    * First experience with a full shield - 1,000x better than a cage IMO
    * Mask is fog-free and scratch resistant, just as advertised
    * Mask appears to be a bit wider than the Bauer ones, creating extra airflow on the sides that helps to prevent fogging
    * Option of replacement lense for $35. Haven't purchased one yet, but I like having the option

    Note: While it isn't listed on the cleaning instructions, I clean my shield after every game with Murphy's Oil Soap. Rids mask of excess dirt and grime that could otherwise cause fogging if left to accumulate. Also, oil base acts as another line of defense against fog. I also store my shield in a pillow case, in a separate pocket of my bag (to prevent against scratches).

    Only con is that the mask is a tad on the short side length-wise. Nonetheless, just took some playing around with the chin-cup to make it work. Doesn't take away from my 5-star review. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone looking to purchase a full shield.

    Experience: I play beer league on Sundays

    Review by JibJab (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    Very under rated

    I have never worn a "bubble" before, but I was drawn to this product since the Bauer model doesn't seem to be that good based on the reviews.

    I like pretty much everything about this product that I have mentioned, the only downside is that it runs a little hot compared to a half visor. However, I like my teeth where they are and I am not a fan of cages.

    I modified mine with some additional holes I drilled in some strategic locations for more ventilation. I'm the type of player that runs hot no matter what I do, still I'm a big fan of the great visibility this product has over cages.

    I take it off and douse my head with water sometimes between shifts so the heat issue doesn't bother me anymore. I think any visor, or "bubble" style shield is going to run hotter than just a helmet or a cage. That being said, the visibility and protection is amazing!

    I've also never had an issue with fogging, I do clean it between games with an anti-fog spray which might be partially why.

    All I know is that the new "Elite" mask from this company is coming out this month! It is supposed to be better in every way, including better ventilation :) I can't wait to try it out :)

    Review by SaintG69 (Posted on 7/24/2016)
    Nice shield.

    I liked the shield in the ad and decided to give it a shot. I wore cages for a while and, because I got accustomed to wearing shields for practice, started to find the old cage I had a bit restrictive when it came to vision on the ice. Nonetheless, I got a great deal on this combo and ordered it. they only had red, so I get a lot of Spider Man comments, but the protection is worth it. There was minimal fog on the bench and a few shifts in I got whacked in the face by a stick. Surprisingly, the blemish buffed out and is good to go. Overall, I like the mask. Just a bit bulky. Maybe the new model is a bit more streamlined. In any case, I didn't lose any chiclets.

    Review by Better late than never (Posted on 7/24/2016)

    Write Your Own Review

    You're reviewing: Avision Ahead Combo Mask

    How do you rate this product? *

      1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars