If you are using a screen reader and are having problems using this website, please call (800) 225 7603 for assistance.
Avision Ahead Combo Mask

  • Avision Ahead Combo Mask
  • Avision Ahead Combo Mask

  • Avision Ahead Combo Mask
  • Avision Ahead Combo Mask

Avision Ahead Combo Mask

Item #: avision-cs-AVH-1-PC

Availability: Out of stock

Original Price $78.99

Our Price $35.99

Avision Ahead Combo Mask

  • Avision Ahead Combo Mask
  • Avision Ahead Combo Mask

  • Avision Ahead Combo Mask
  • Avision Ahead Combo Mask

Details

  • Two piece polycarbonate high impact mask with a replaceable lens
  • 100% Fog free lens (both sides)
  • Scratch resistant lens (both sides)
  • Polycarbonate cage frame weighs 5.2 oz
  • Fits all major brand helmets senior medium and up
  • Crystal clear - Tough as nails
  • Mounting hardware included
  • Avision Ahead Combo Mask

    Product Questions

    Do you sell the replacement lens for this shield? It measures almost 3.5 " at the center. Thanks.
    0

    Review Breakdown

    3.7
    Rating
    5 Star:
    42%
    ( 11 )
    4 Star:
    27%
    ( 7 )
    3 Star:
    8%
    ( 2 )
    2 Star:
    4%
    ( 1 )
    1 Star:
    19%
    ( 5 )
    Quality
    5 Star:
    42%
    ( 11 )
    4 Star:
    27%
    ( 7 )
    3 Star:
    8%
    ( 2 )
    2 Star:
    4%
    ( 1 )
    1 Star:
    19%
    ( 5 )
    Performance
    5 Star:
    42%
    ( 11 )
    4 Star:
    27%
    ( 7 )
    3 Star:
    8%
    ( 2 )
    2 Star:
    4%
    ( 1 )
    1 Star:
    19%
    ( 5 )
    Value
    5 Star:
    42%
    ( 11 )
    4 Star:
    27%
    ( 7 )
    3 Star:
    8%
    ( 2 )
    2 Star:
    4%
    ( 1 )
    1 Star:
    19%
    ( 5 )
    Price
    5 Star:
    42%
    ( 11 )
    4 Star:
    27%
    ( 7 )
    3 Star:
    8%
    ( 2 )
    2 Star:
    4%
    ( 1 )
    1 Star:
    19%
    ( 5 )

    Loading...
    Please wait...

    Product Reviews

    Sort by:
    Reviewed by Lightning
    on October 5, 2016
    Performance:
    Price:
    Value:
    Quality:
    Do you find this review helpful?
    5

    Amazing Product!

    My son has been using the combo mask for 2 years. Is on the ice 3-4 times a week, has worn the combo mask indoor and outdoor and never fogged. Even when it was -15 with wind chill. I only washed the lens or used the cleaner you use on regular glasses and it still did not fog. Great product!! Just purchased a junior replacement lens and changing it was pretty easy. Had a little issue purchasing the product online. Contacted the company and The Founder of the company, Bill Everett responded within 5-10 minutes of my email. He handled and rectified the situation within minutes and I received the product a week after. Very satisfied all around, great product great customer service and would recommend this product to others.

    Reviewed by Eric Logan
    on July 24, 2016
    Performance:
    Price:
    Value:
    Quality:
    Do you find this review helpful?
    5

    Works as advertised!

    I have used this mask a couple times a week in my adult leagues for over a year now. I sweat a lot and it has NEVER fogged up, not even in the humid summer air. Not a single scratch yet either (I always keep it in a helmet bag.)

    Yes it is a bit big looking, but I think that is part of the reason it doesn't fog up - the shield is further from your face than others. I got over the looks after 5 minutes on the ice. It works just like it is advertised (and costs less than the others.) I am very please with this mask.

    Reviewed by boogieboard71
    on July 24, 2016
    Performance:
    Price:
    Value:
    Quality:
    Do you find this review helpful?
    5

    Excellent Mask

    Using for a couple months mainly for ice. It has never fogged. I do need to bring a towel to the bench because I sweat on the lens, but no problems with vision or anything else. I did use the chin strap from my previous helmet for comfort reasons.

    Reviewed by Rick
    on July 24, 2016
    Performance:
    Price:
    Value:
    Quality:
    Do you find this review helpful?
    2

    Save your money

    This product fogged right out of the box, I'm extremely disappointed. Save your money stick with a cage.

    Reviewed by Vlad
    on July 24, 2016
    Performance:
    Price:
    Value:
    Quality:
    Do you find this review helpful?
    5

    Avision Full Shield, made in USA

    I tried Bauer Concept III, but had issue with fogging up. This Shield is great, no issues with fog, comfortable to wear and does not have depth distortion I had with Bauer shield. Per manufacturer instructions the shield does not require anti-fog spray, just water and soft cloth to clean it. I have it installed on my Bauer Re-Act helmet (Medium size) and it fits very good. I use chin cup and strap from my Bauer Concept III shield, however, just feels better. I also used plastic washers for the 2 helmet screws on top to attach the shield to get that extra 1/8 of an inch gap for ventilation. I am thinking of getting replacement lens for future use.

    Reviewed by dibzy
    on July 24, 2016
    Performance:
    Price:
    Value:
    Quality:
    Do you find this review helpful?
    1

    Waste of money and false advertising!

    I must admit I was skeptical about buying this. I've had shields before and in the end they always fog up. I've been having a lot of issues with my eyes watering lately. I've tried lots of different drops and finally after no success I decided to try this shield. Having read the reviews most although not all were positive. I figured I would take my chances. First game was tonight in a mens league in NYC. Space is cold, cold air etc. Shield began to fog as soon as I got on the ice. It started just below my nose and by mid game it had creeped up to the point that I could no longer see. I had to keep wiping it down but to no avail. It would clear a bit when I started skating but honestly, NO FOG? come on that is a total lie. Save your money and your time.

    Do not buy this product.

    Reviewed by Frank the tank
    on July 24, 2016
    Performance:
    Price:
    Value:
    Quality:
    Do you find this review helpful?
    3

    Satisfied for the most part

    I did not order this shield from Hockey monkey but figured I'd review it since I have played w/it for at least 4 seasons now. I bought it because I felt like the bars from my cage were interfering with my ability to keep track of the puck in my peripheral vision. When I swapped cage for shield I did notice a big difference and for a while it didn't fog up on me but eventually I started having to use "tricks" to avoid fogging. The best solution I arrived at was spraying it with Lysol prior to games and just letting it dry on the mask before using it. This actually worked very well for me, and I am a big (warm blooded) guy and once the factory anti-fog wore off it would fog up within seconds after just stepping out onto the ice.

    Having said that, the fogging was never my biggest complaint about this shield. My problem, from day one, was that the shield was too short for my face and they only make it in one size. I use a Bauer 8500 helmet and when I originally mounted it on the helmet it didn't even hit the cage stops on the side of the helmet when it was snapped, even on their lowest adjustment. I ended up making a pair of stops out of aluminum to make sure it wouldn't "over-travel" if I took a hit to the mask. The new stops solved that problem but I, as many of the other reviewers, found the chin cup that came with the shield to be uncomfortable so I swapped cups from my old cage too. I even went so far as to flip the brackets that hold the top of the mask to the helmet over to get a little more vertical length out of the mounting configuration. Even after all of the customization I could still open my mouth in just the right way, with the shield snapped, and pop my chin out of the chin strap. This never really became a problem in all the time I used it but it always kind of bothered me.

    I have gone back to a cage, mainly because of fitment, however I am thinking about getting a new helmet and if I do I will definitely try the shield on it to see if it fits me better on a different helmet. If you have read this far, I assume you are looking for some kind of a conclusion so I will say this is a quality shield and provides good protection if your head/face isn't huge. Don't count on lifetime of factory anti-fog protection but I wouldn't let anti-fog promises be the only determining factor in the purchase of this shield. I never had a lack of confidence in this shields ability to protect me from a stick, puck or the boards. I only gave it 3 stars because, personally, I'm skeptical of the 4 and five star reviews most of the time and I usually check 1-3 star reviews first. I am selecting the "Yes, I would recommend this to a friend" box because its not the manufacturer's fault I have a big head, but buyer beware...if you have a big melon.

    Show More
    Reviewed by RecHak
    on July 24, 2016
    Performance:
    Price:
    Value:
    Quality:
    Do you find this review helpful?
    1

    Foggy

    Very difficult to fit to a CCM Res300 (great helmet) and my face. Wore for one game. Spent the entire game battling fog. Disappointed

    Reviewed by Will's Dad
    on July 24, 2016
    Performance:
    Price:
    Value:
    Quality:
    Do you find this review helpful?
    1

    It does fog up!

    My 15 y/o son plays for his high school team in Metro Detroit. They skate 3 times a week for an hour each time. Like many of you we read all the reviews before buying this shield. We even watched videos on the internet where the owner of the shield company talks about how it won't fog up...he shows this by exhaling air onto the visor to show that it won't fog up. We weren't sure what to expect given the mix of good and bad reviews, but bought this shield anyway with hopes of it performing like the company says it will. The shield fogs up within ten minutes of hitting the ice. My son says it completely obscures his vision which he says is very disorienting. We followed all mounting and cleaning instructions to the letter, but the shield does not perform as advertised. I went to the company's website to express my displeasure with the product directly to the owner. To his credit he tried to make things right and shipped me a new replacement lens free of charge (except we had to pay the shipping). When the new lens arrived I removed the "old" one (which had been used for only a month at this point) and inserted the new lens. Within an hour my son was on the ice for practice and within 10 minutes the shield fogged up so bad my son had to go to the bench to wipe it off. He had to continually go to the bench throught practice to keep wiping the fog off. During practice I e-mailed Bill Everett the owner of the company that makes the shield. Again he is trying to make things right and keep us as customers, but we've had two visors and both of them fogged up very quickly. Do not waste your money on this product. You will only spend more money in the long run because you will end up going to a different shield or cage.

    Show More
    Reviewed by JibJab
    on July 24, 2016
    Performance:
    Price:
    Value:
    Quality:
    Do you find this review helpful?
    5

    5 star full shield

    Love this shield. While there are a TON of positive reviews out there, I've read some of the negative reviews from hockeymonkey and other sites, and I was skeptical about purchasing this mask at first.... However, I can't complain whatsoever. Lots of things to love here:

    * I've had this mask for about a year, NO issues with fogging
    * Vision is just as clear as it was the first time I wore it
    * First experience with a full shield - 1,000x better than a cage IMO
    * Mask is fog-free and scratch resistant, just as advertised
    * Mask appears to be a bit wider than the Bauer ones, creating extra airflow on the sides that helps to prevent fogging
    * Option of replacement lense for $35. Haven't purchased one yet, but I like having the option

    Note: While it isn't listed on the cleaning instructions, I clean my shield after every game with Murphy's Oil Soap. Rids mask of excess dirt and grime that could otherwise cause fogging if left to accumulate. Also, oil base acts as another line of defense against fog. I also store my shield in a pillow case, in a separate pocket of my bag (to prevent against scratches).

    Only con is that the mask is a tad on the short side length-wise. Nonetheless, just took some playing around with the chin-cup to make it work. Doesn't take away from my 5-star review. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone looking to purchase a full shield.

    Experience: I play beer league on Sundays

    Show More
    More Reviews:
    1. 1
    2. 2
    3. 3